计算机和 IT 更新、技术新闻、评论、技巧比较、洞察力、消费者和企业 IT 的操作方法。

硬盘驱动器和存储的演变

硬盘驱动器和存储的演变

我们今天看到了花哨的存储设备,但过去从来没有这样的存储。它消耗了整个空间来存储千字节的数据,但今天,一个微小的闪存盘可以存储大量的数据。这是硬盘和存储设备的演变;

打孔卡

穿孔卡曾经是用于计算机程序和数据存储的数字信息的基础。他们在处理机器输入数据在整个20世纪上半叶广泛使用和储存。打孔卡可以输入第一台商用计算机 IBM 305 系统,然后将数据存储在硬盘上。

IBM 350 磁盘存储单元

350 磁盘存储系统是 1956 年 9 月推出的 IBM 305 RAMAC(计费和控制随机访问方法)系统的主要组成部分。它由 40 个盘片和单臂上的双读/写头组成,可移动上下堆叠的磁盘盘片。这 40 个盘片存储了高达(当时)5MB 的数据。

IBM RAMAC 305

IBM 305 RAMAC(会计和控制随机访问方法)于 1956 年推出,是一种电子通用数据处理机器,可实时维护业务记录。 305 RAMAC 是 IBM 设计的最后一个真空管系统之一,在 1961 年生产结束之前建造了 1,000 多个。该系统占据了整个房间的大部分空间,需要三名管理员来运行。

IBM 磁盘

IBM 在 1950 年代初期发明的磁盘每侧包含 100 个同心磁道。每个音轨存储 500 个字母数字字符,总存储容量为 500 万个字符。该磁盘使用户能够在不到一秒钟的时间内直接检索任何信息。

IBM 650 磁鼓

这个 16 英寸长的鼓以每分钟 12,500 转的速度旋转,为 1950 年代中期的 IBM 650 计算机提供了 10,000 个字符的主存储器。数据在鼓周围的 40 条轨道上进行磁性编码。

IBM 1311 硬盘

该驱动系统将存储技术从冰箱的大小缩小到洗衣机的大小,有六个 14 英寸的盘片,并包含一个最大容量为 2.6MB 数据的可移动磁盘包。 1311 一直延续到 1970 年代中期。

IBM 1301 可移动存储单元

在创建 RAMAC 305 仅两年后,IBM 发布了 1301,这是第一个使用驱动臂上的“飞行磁头”来读取和写入数据到其 50 个 24 英寸磁盘的存储系统。 1301 的磁头和致动器臂组件看起来有点像面包切片机,因为每个驱动盘都有自己的读/写磁头。

从 1979 年至今

从 1979 年至今:6 块硬盘,从 8 英寸型号开始,随后是 5.25 英寸、3.5 英寸、2.5 英寸、1.8 英寸和 1 英寸磁盘,部分拆卸以显示盘片和读写磁头.

16MB 日立微驱

微型驱动器激发了手持设备的更大创新,例如 Apple 的 iPod。当 iPod 于 2001 年首次发布时,它有一个 1.8 英寸的硬盘,容量为 5GB。到 2006 年,iPod 配备了一个可容纳 160GB 的微驱动器。

USB 闪存驱动器

固态存储或 NAND 闪存正在迅速取代硬盘驱动器成为个人移动存储的首选介质。 SuperTalent 的这款 Pico 迷你闪存盘可容纳 8GB 数据。然而,今天,一包口香糖大小的 USB 驱动器可容纳高达 256GB 的数据。

从 1956 年到 2010 年

1956 年,RAMAC 305 存储了 500 万个字符。如今,硬盘驱动器可存储多达 3TB 的数据,而固态技术正迅速在单个驱动器中接近 1 TB 的容量。

现在存储在每个设备中,硬盘和存储设备需求几乎在每个设备中。

0
喜欢你的想法,请发表评论。 X
()
X

Computer and IT updates, tech news, reviews, tips comparisons, insight, how to of consumer and enterprise IT.

The evolution of hard drives and Storage

The evolution of hard drives and Storage

We see fancy storage devices today, but the storage was never like this in past. It consumed whole room to just store kilobytes of Data but today, a tiny Flash Disk can store huge volume of data. Here is the Evolution of Hard Drive and storage devices;

The punch card

A punch card was once the basis for digital information used for computer programs and data storage. They were widely used throughout the first half of the 20th century in processing machines to input data and to store it. Punch cards could be fed into the first commercial computer, IBM 305 system, which then stored the data on hard disks.  

IBM 350 disk storage unit

The 350 Disk Storage System was a major component of the IBM 305 RAMAC (Random Access Method of Accounting and Control) system, which was introduced in September 1956. It consisted of 40 platters and a dual read/write head on a single arm that moved up and down the stack of magnetic disk platters. Those 40 platters stored a whopping (for the time) 5MB of data.

IBM RAMAC 305

Introduced in 1956, the IBM 305 RAMAC (Random Access Method of  Accounting and Control) was an electronic general-purpose data processing machine that maintained business records on a real-time basis. The 305 RAMAC was one of the last vacuum tube systems designed by IBM, and more than 1,000 of them were built before production ended in 1961. The system took up the better part of an entire room and required three administrators to run it.    

IBM magnetic disk

The magnetic disk invented by IBM in the early 1950s contained 100 concentric tracks on each side. Each track stored 500 alphanumeric characters, yielding a total storage capacity of 5 million characters. This disk enabled users to retrieve any piece of information directly in less than a second.

IBM 650 magnetic drum  

This 16-inch-long drum spun at 12,500 revolutions per minute to provide the IBM 650 computer of the mid-1950s with 10,000 characters of main memory. Data was magnetically encoded on 40 tracks around the drum.

IBM 1311 hard drive

The drive system, which shrunk storage technology from the size of a refrigerator to the size of a washing machine, had six 14-inch platters and contained a removable disk pack that had a maximum capacity of 2.6MB of data. The 1311 lived on through the mid-1970s.

IBM 1301 removable storage unit

Only two years after creating the RAMAC 305, IBM released the 1301, the first storage system that used “flying heads” on actuator arms to read and write data to its 50 24-inch magnetic platters. The 1301’s head and actuator arm assembly looked something like a bread-slicing machine turned on its side because each drive platter had its own read/write head.

From 1979 through today

From 1979 through today: Six hard drives beginning with an 8-inch model, followed by 5.25-inch, 3.5-inch, 2.5-inch, 1.8-inch, and 1-inch disks, partially disassembled to show platters and read-write heads. 

16MB Hitachi Microdrive

Microdrives spurred greater innovation in handheld devices, such as Apple’s iPod. When the iPod was first released in 2001, it had a 1.8-inch hard drive with 5GB of capacity. By 2006, the iPod was equipped with a microdrive that held 160GB.  

The USB flash drive

Solid-state storage, or NAND flash, is quickly usurping hard disk drives as the medium of choice for personal mobile storage. This Pico mini flash drive from SuperTalent holds 8GB of data. Today, however, USB drives the size of a pack of gum hold up to 256GB of data.

From 1956 to 2010

In 1956, the RAMAC 305 stored 5 million characters. Today, hard drives stores as much as 3TB of data, and solid-state technology is quickly approaching a terabyte of capacity in a single drive.

 Now Storage is in every device and Hard Disk and Storage device requirement is almost in every device.

0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x